Starting a Bullet Journal: Pretty Functional

So my lovely friends kindly gave me a gorgeous notebook to take with me to London and I was absolutely thrilled because it was the perfect motivation to start my own bullet journal. I had been looking at other peoples blogs and videos about them for a while but wasn’t sure if it would actually be achievable for me. If you haven’t heard of a bullet journal, it’s a personal organizational system contained in a notebook and personalized to your own needs and preferences. And it can be customized down to every single minute detail, because you are doing it yourself. It was created by Ryder Carroll, who spent 20 years developing the idea.

I have seen loads of different layouts and styles, Lily Pebbles has a very clean-cut, straight forward approach while Kara from Boho Berry is more artistic and elaborate in her method. I seem to have fallen somewhere in between the two, I like order and clarity but I also wanted it to be a good reflection of my personality and mind, which of course is not always so black and white. I knew I wanted to be able to see my plans and goals for the year laid out in front of me. I also wanted a financial section, parts dedicated to my blog and some lists to work on for the year.

My journal starts in September 2016 and ends in August 2017 (the time I’ll be abroad) and it’s slowly coming together. I’m finding it’s a very therapeutic activity, partly because it requires focus and partly because it means you can start to see your thoughts systematically written down in front of you, which for me makes them much easier to compute. Beep-boop-beep.

I’ve only just started it but I’m going to keep a track of my feelings about it on this blog, maybe an update every month or two. Currently I’m excited about and enjoying making a new habit and loving the practicality of having a proper system instead of a mountain of notebooks with various purposes. However, what I’m unsure of is my day-to-day planning. I’m used to a full page per day diary and I’m already feeling like I’m going to have a separate day diary to my bullet journal. Also I don’t quite have the hang of the Key, probably because I don’t have day pages just months and weeks. I took down the ones I saw that seemed useful but I am finding it a little difficult to include them in a way that feels natural. I feel like I might have picked out to many to start with.

 

Leave a Reply

